electronic catalog or index that is searchable and contains information about published items. A library provides access by subscribing to commercially produced databases.
-1
votes
0answers
9 views
Movie/song database like IMDB [closed]
How to build a moviesongs database similar to IMDB for commercial use without purchasing it from somewhere?
The databases like IMDB and Musicbrainz are not open for commercial use.
1
vote
1answer
57 views
Effective presentation of information in classes for library patrons
Which approach has proven to be more effective in a situation involving, e.g., teaching patrons to use a genealogy database?
Stand-and-Deliver with slides/PowerPoint, which incorporate screen shots ...
11
votes
4answers
125 views
What approaches are there for archiving and preserving databases and what tradeoffs are there between different approaches?
Is it ever a good idea to keep databases in their original format? Is it best to try and migrate data to newer kinds of databases? Or, is it a good idea to try and flatten the data as much as possible ...
0
votes
3answers
79 views
What classifications of people's interests exist?
I know the North American Industry Classification System for
categories of businesses. Is the a similar classification of subjects people are interested in?
For instance: pop music, computer science ...
1
vote
1answer
50 views
Are there indices/bibliographies or databases of foreign science papers in English? [duplicate]
Possible Duplicate:
How To Find Old Russian Physics Papers In English?
Foreign-language science papers are frequently difficult to come by in translation. Is there any sort of ...
1
vote
4answers
188 views
How To Find Old Russian Physics Papers In English?
Russian science papers may or may not have been translated into english. If they have been translated, where would they be available?
Are there general methods or resources that can be used to find ...
